Archive through September 26, 2004

Janny Wurts Chat Area: Book Nook: Archive through September 26, 2004
   By Trys on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 02:15 pm: Edit Post

Cheryl,

These books might predate you by a wee bit as they were published in the '70s and early '80s.

Trys

By Cheryl on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 03:10 pm: Edit Post

I was in high school then but didn't read much outside of what I had to in those days. I got to reading after I graduated and later found fantasy. Guess that's why I missed them. I missed a lot of Cherryh's earlier books in those years too.

By Sandtiger on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 04:39 pm: Edit Post

Trys,

::laugh::

Well, the first one predates me...House of Zeor came out in 1974/5 and I was born in 1978.

It's a series that really transcends the time it was written though - which is why I am glad to see Meisha Merlin rereleasing them.

Of course, some of the original covers (HoZ for instance) are quite....unique. They certainly show a marked contrast as to marketing technique in the 70s compared to nowadays!

Sandtiger

By Cheryl on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 05:20 pm: Edit Post

Oh Sandtiger you make me feel old. I thought you were older now I am the old fart at this con. groan.

By Trys on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 05:50 pm: Edit Post

Sandtiger,

I believe I have a hardcover of HoZ that I found in used bookstore (I was too poor to afford new HCs during the '70s) and yes the cover art is quite different... doesn't look like anything in particular as far as a genre. But First Channel is the Don Maitz cover, more traditional of the genre.

Trys

By Sandtiger on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 07:48 pm: Edit Post

I think I read an article about how the HoZ cover art came to be...it didn't help me like it. ::Groan::

I definitely liked Don's cover better. ::Grin::

Sandtiger

By Wayne McCalla on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 10:07 pm: Edit Post

I have Meisha Merlin's Unity trilogy but still have not had time to read it.